Tevet Sela Francaise

ACCUEIL      À PROPOS       MUSIQUE       SPECTACLES       VIDÉO      COURS DE SAXOPHONE       CONTACT


« Un concert intriguant, innovateur et passionnant pour tous les amateurs de jazz. Le quatuor Tevet Sela présente une combinaison judicieuse d’harmonies classiques imprégnées de l’influence de Kleizmer et de rythmes nord-africains... » - Time Out Magazine

« Tevet Sela laisse libre cours à sa musique : lorsque ce moment magique survient, son saxophone fait vibrer, bourdonner et « sangloter » chaque note pour les fusionner dans un tourbillon sonore. Tevet Sela insuffle à sa musique sa dextérité avec force de créativité, de spontanéité et de passion, ce qui rend sa musique très originale; un moment offert qui mérite qu’on le saisisse. » - Dre Ana Isabel Ordonez, JazzReview.com

« A recording which should have jazz fans around the country taking notice...An undeniably adventurous feeling underpins this album and gives it the kind of glow emanating from late 50s jazz releases as Sela's fine compositions unfold » - Rod Nicholson, London Scene Magazine

« A beautiful alto sound to be savored slowly, with a precision that sides the quality of his compositions » - Christophe Rodriguez, SortiesJazzNights.com

« Montreal saxophonist Tevet Sela plays like hell on his CD Lying Sun... He's versatile, and has a nice warm tone » - Chris Smith, Winnipeg Free Press

 

Tevet Sela est un saxophoniste compositeur établi à Montréal. Il dirige son quatuor qui interprète exclusivement sa musique. À travers son répertoire, Tevet combine le jazz avec imprégnés de musiques d’Afrique et du Moyen-Orient.

Tevet a commencé à jouer du piano classique à l’âge de 7 ans. C’est à 12 ans qu’il a commencé à jouer du saxophone et que son intérêt pour le jazz s’est développé. À l’âge de 16 ans, il a commencé à composer sa propre musique et a lancé sa carrière de musicien professionnel. Tevet est devenu rapidement un musicien recherché et il a été invité à jouer avec des groupes locaux diffusés dans les émissions de télévision israéliennes les plus populaires. Il a également contribué à des solos pour des artistes et des bandes sonores mises en vente à la fois en Israël et à l’étranger. Parmi les autres albums Tevet a joué sur l’album le multi platine «Idan Raichel Project '.

Tevet, un diplômé de la prestigieuse école Thelma Yelin School of Arts, a effectué des tournées en France et aux Pays-Bas en tant que soliste avec le groupe de musique de l’institution. De plus, Tevet détient un diplôme d’enseignement de la musique. Il a obtenu plusieurs bourses du fonds America-Israel cultural fund au cours des années.

En l’an 2000, Tevet a mis en place son propre groupe et a commencé à enregistrer et à interpréter ses propres compositions. Au printemps 2003, le premier album de Tevet a paru, suivi d’une tournée en Europe. Les concerts en direct de Tevet soulèvent l’intérêt et l’enthousiasme et sa musique est fréquemment jouée par les stations de radio à travers le monde incluant BBC Radio et des stations de jazz majeures des États-Unis d’Amérique. Son premier album a été mis en nomination dans la catégorie « album de jazz de l’année » et « composition de jazz de l’année » aux prix JPF Music Awards de 2006.

Le second album de Tevet intitulé Coming True est sorti en 2007. Cet album a été enregistré en quatuor; il constitue la poursuite de l’aventure musicale de Tevet, dans le même esprit que son premier album, mais avec une touche un peu plus jazz-funk. L’évolution des capacités d’écriture, d’adaptation et de production de Tevet y transparaît. De nouveau, cet album a bénéficié d’une grande visibilité; le quatuor de Tevet a effectué des tournées et donné des représentations pour soutenir sa parution.

En 2010, Tevet a donné naissance à un autre projet musical rafraîchissant à travers son troisième album intitulé Jazz flute. Même si Tevet a effectué beaucoup de travaux en studio en tant que flûtiste pour d’autres artistes, c’est la première fois qu’il fait paraître un album complètement dédié à la flûte. Partageant son talent en tant que flûtiste accompli et accompagné par une section rythmique solide, Tevet a encore une fois créé un album qui contient exclusivement ses propres créations.

Après avoir déménagé à Montréal à l'hiver 2010 Tevet a été impliqué dans la scène jazz canadienne dynamique. Son premier album canadien - «Lying Sun' est sorti sur Effendi records sur l'automne 2014.

 

   

Website Created by Shira Egoz Sela   © 2016 Jazz saxophonist Tevet Sela

| online saxophone lessons | online saxophone tutorials | saxophone teacher | montreal saxophone teacher
saxophone teacher | montreal saxophone teacher Montreal flute lessons, flute teacher

Tevet Sela Francaise  

HOME       ABOUT       MUSIC       SHOWS       VIDEO       ONLINE SAXOPHONE LESSONS       CONTACT


"An intriguing concert for all who love innovative and exciting jazz … Tevet Sela Quartet presents an intelligent and skillful mix of classical harmonies with a Kleizmer influence and North-African rhythms... " - Time Out Magazine

"Tevet Sela follows a sense of 'let it go', when this magical moment happens, his saxophone will shrill, snarl and weep every note to collide into a turning mass of sounds. Tevet Sela injects a high skill onto this release with creativity, spontaneity and passion, offering a very original music which is certainly worth the time." - Dr. Ana Isabel Ordonez, JazzReview.com

« A recording which should have jazz fans around the country taking notice...An undeniably adventurous feeling underpins this album and gives it the kind of glow emanating from late 50s jazz releases as Sela's fine compositions unfold » - Rod Nicholson, London Scene Magazine

« A beautiful alto sound to be savored slowly, with a precision that sides the quality of his compositions » - Christophe Rodriguez, SortiesJazzNights.com

« Montreal saxophonist Tevet Sela plays like hell on his CD Lying Sun... He's versatile, and has a nice warm tone » - Chris Smith, Winnipeg Free Press

 

Tevet Sela is a Montreal based saxophonist and composer. Over the last years, Tevet has been leading his own quartet, which exclusively performs his music. In his repertoire, Tevet weaves Jazz together with elements of Klezmer, African and Middle Eastern music.

Tevet started playing classical piano at the age of 7. When he was 12 he began playing the saxophone and his interest in Jazz started to grow. At the age of 16 he started to compose his own music and began his professional musical career. Tevet soon became a much sought after session player, playing at the house bands of the most popular Israeli television shows as well as contributing solos for soundtracks and artists releases both in Israel and abroad. Among other albums Tevet played on the multi platinum ‘Idan Raichel Project’ album.

Tevet, who is also a graduate of the prestigious Thelma Yelin School of Arts, has toured in France and the Netherlands as it's big band featured soloist. In addition, Tevet holds a Diploma in music education, and has over the years won several scholarships of the America-Israel cultural fund.

Tevet has enjoyed the Israeli Foreign Ministry's endorsement on several projects such as representing Israel in an international UNICEF benefit concert. This concert was broadcasted from the Netherlands to 35 countries throughout the world and featured international artists such as: David Bowie, Des'ree, Youssou N'doure, Al Jarreau, and more..

In the year 2000 Tevet established his own band and started to record and perform his original compositions. In the spring of 2003 Tevet's debut album 'Tevet Sela' was released and followed by a tour in international jazz festivals and venues, both in Israel and abroad. Tevet's live concerts generate interest and enthusiasm by both European and Israeli audience. His music is frequently played by radio stations around the world including the BBC Radio, and leading Jazz stations in the USA. The debut album was nominated for the 'jazz album of the year' and the 'jazz composition of the year' awards at the JPF Music Awards 2006.

Tevet released his second cd entitled ‘Coming True’ in 2007. The album was recorded in a quartet setting and continues the adventurous spirit of Tevet’s debut album but with a more jazz-funk flavor to it. It displays Tevet’s evolving writing, arranging and producing abilities. Again this album had gained a lot of exposure and Tevet’s quartet toured and performed in supporting of this album.

In January 2010 Tevet has brought to life yet another refreshing musical project in his third release ‘Jazz flute’. Soon after its release, the album became one of the best iTunes sellers in its category.

After moving to Montreal in winter 2010 Tevet got involved in the vibrant Canadian jazz scene. His first Canadian album - ‘Lying Sun’ is released on Effendi records fall 2014.

 

   

Website Created by Shira Egoz Sela   © 2016 Jazz saxophonist Tevet Sela

| online saxophone lessons | online saxophone tutorials | saxophone teacher | montreal saxophone teacher
saxophone teacher | montreal saxophone teacher Montreal flute lessons, flute teacher